South African Freemasonry began with the formation of Lodge De Goede Hoop on 2 May 1772. This was under the GEN in Cape Town. By 1822 there were only 5 Masonic Lodges, all in Cape Town. 2 were under the GEN, 2 under the UGLE and 1 under both jurisdictions. During the next 50 years, 36 Lodges were formed: 15 under the GEN, 18 under the UGLE, 2 Scottish Constitution and 1 French Constitution. 8 Lodges were formed in the Western Cape, 15 in the Eastern Cape, 2 in Natal, 7 in the Free State and 4 beyond the Vaal River.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *